Bucs reveal Captains



Tampa Bay announced who will be captains for the 2016 season and Jameis Winston has been named in that role in just his second year. The quarterback routinely was the focus in the huddle and on the sidelines talking to players and showing he had the ability to lead the team as a rookie. Winston’s ascension to being a captain is not a surprise seeing how he took control during his rookie year.

The other offensive captain is veteran receiver Vincent Jackson who has been a solid player since his arrival in Tampa in 2012. Russell Shepard retains his captaincy on special teams.


The defensive captains are unarguably the best players on that side of the ball as Lavonte David and Gerald McCoy get to represent Mike Smith’s defensive unit.

The team will also have a sixth captain for each week chosen from the other 48 players on the roster. The sixth captain for week one in Atlanta will be center Joe Hawley who previously played for the Falcons.

This group seems strong as Jackson, David, and McCoy all have Pro-Bowls on their resume and Winston is the face of the franchise and soon may be one of the faces of the entire league. We will see soon if these captains will lead the Bucs out of the doldrums of the past 8 years and lead Tampa to playoff football for the first time since 2007.