NFL Approves New Overtime Rules


The NFL has approved new overtime rules put forth by the Philadelphia Eagles and Indianapolis Colts. The new rule will allow for each team to have at least one possession in overtime. The rules for regular season overtime remains the same. The rule change vote was 29-3 in favor of adapting the new rule.

As Albert Breer of Sports Illustrated reports, the Dolphins, Bengals and Vikings were the team’s opposed to the new rule.

The decision to change the overtime rule in the playoffs comes two months after outrage erupted following the AFC Divisional Round matchup between the Kansas City Chiefs and the Buffalo Bills, when quarterback Josh Allen was denied a chance to possess the ball in overtime after Patrick Mahomes led the Chiefs on an eight-play, 75-yard touchdown drive, ending the game without the Bills being able to respond.

For more on this and the NFL and everything Buccaneers check back here hourly at