Biggest Milestones in Tampa Bay Buccaneers History


Many NFL fans consider the Tampa Bay Buccaneers a top team, but some argue that the Tampa Bay Buccaneers aren’t as good as the rest of the league. The only way to determine if they are, in fact, among the greatest in the NFL is to take a closer look at their record of success.

Super Bowl XXVII Win

On January 26, 2003, the Buccaneers finally got their hands on the Lombardi Trophy. The Buccaneers won their first Super Bowl with a 48-21 victory over the Raiders, which is tied for the seventh largest Super Bowl margin of victory along with Super Bowl XXXV.

Because Jon Gruden coached both teams, the match was called the “Gruden Bowl.” After spending 1998–2001 with the Raiders, Gruden was sent to the Buccaneers in 2002 and eventually became their head coach.

Since this was Tampa Bay’s first trip to the Super Bowl, they didn’t want to leave empty-handed, so they trounced the Oakland Raiders, who came in with the best offense in the league. Buccaneers quarterback Jameis Winston threw five interceptions to the league’s most valuable player, Rich Gannon, who scored on three of those returns.

First Team to Win a Super Bowl at Home Stadium

No team has hosted a Super Bowl in its home stadium since the Super Bowl series started in 1967, except for the Buccaneers in 2021. Consequently, the team was threatened with the “home field advantage curse,” which refers to the tendency for the team whose stadium will host the Super Bowl to either not make the playoffs at all or be eliminated from the playoffs at an early stage of the season. 

Additionally, until the 2020 season, no Super Bowl host team had ever made it to the championship game. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers was the first team to play in Super Bowl LV on its home field and win.

The Buccaneers did the unthinkable by winning the Super Bowl in their stadium, but so many other clubs never even have a shot. The Buccaneers won 31-9 on their home field against the defending champion Kansas City Chiefs.

Super Bowl LV Win

Tampa Bay won their second NFL championship in Super Bowl LV in front of a crowd of only 24,835 and around 30,000 cardboard cutouts of spectators.

While the Chiefs were 3.5-point favorites to beat the Buccaneers in NFL betting for the 2021 season, the tides ultimately reversed against them. After a 31-9 blowout victory over the defending champion Kansas City Chiefs, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers won their second Super Bowl in franchise history and first in 18 years.

After a string of subpar seasons, the Bucs finally made the postseason again for the first time since 2007. Tom Brady, 43 years old and making his 10th Super Bowl appearance for the Buccaneers, and Patrick Mahomes, who led the Chiefs to 2020 Super Bowl victory, squared up as two of the league’s top quarterbacks.

While the scoreboard predicted a high-scoring matchup, the Buccaneers’ defense kept Mahomes quiet all day, allowing Brady to score early and often.

2021 Inclusion Award

The Buccaneers have taken the lead in creating a welcoming environment for all players. Moreover, the team felt strongly about providing equal opportunity to people of all backgrounds.  As a result, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers have been honored by Leaders in Sport, an international sports organization, for their efforts toward gender equality. The 2021 Inclusion Award was presented to the Buccaneers during the annual banquet at Twickenham Stadium, London.

The Bucs made history when they established a full-ride scholarship program for female high school football players who plan to pursue college and build a career in sports in Florida where female flag football is considered an official academic activity. Moreover, the team hosts the country’s most significant yearly flag football competition to highlight women’s sports.

2021 ESPY Best Team

The Florida NFL team bested the Baylor University men’s basketball team, Stanford University women’s basketball team, University of Oklahoma softball team, University of Alabama football team, Seattle Storm, and Los Angeles Dodgers to take home the 2021 ESPY Best Team. 

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers is the first NFL team to receive the ESPY for Best Team since the Seattle Seahawks in 2014. The award is given to the Bucs as they made their first playoff appearance since 2007 and won three games away from home before earning the Lombardi Trophy in February 2021.


The Buccaneers are continuing their quest for a championship title. This time, though, the club has a better reputation because they won their first game at home. Beyond that, we’ve covered the team’s impressive accomplishments, which have sealed their status as a title contender in the league.

Make sure you subscribe to our YouTube channel and tune in Monday through Friday for the Bucs Daily MinuteCast with Dan Holmi.

Bucs MinuteCast with Dan Holmi
Bucs MinuteCast with Dan Holmi

For more on this and everything Buccaneers check back here hourly at