Derrick Brooks: One of the Greatest LB of All Time!



Gil Brandt listed his TOP 45 Linebackers of all time and on that list, he named some pretty awesome linebackers. Some of his all-time greats were:

39. Zach Thomas 
37. DeMarcus Ware
32. London Fletcher
30. Patrick Willis 
27. Brian Urlacher
  8. Ray Lewis
  6. Derrick Brooks
  1. Lawrence Taylor

As you can see Brandt thinks very highly of Derrick Brooks and he should because Brooks is an OUTSTANDING linebacker. Brooks was drafted out of Florida State in 2005 by Tampa Bay with the 28th overall pick they received in a trade with Dallas. Brooks stayed all 14 years with Tampa and become one of the TOP NFL LINEBACKERS of ALL-TIME.

During the 14 years, Brooks was in the NFL, Brooks made it to the Pro-Bowl 11 times. Brooks won a Championship in 2002 which currently is the only Championship Tampa has. In his career, Brooks compiled 1,297 tackles, 13.5 sacks, 24 forced fumbles, 25 interceptions, and 6 returned for touchdowns. In 2002, the year the Bucs won the Championship, Brooks was the Defensive Player of the Year.

Brooks was a leader for the Buccaneers and had so much passion for the game. He never gave up and always played til the whistle blew.  In 2000 Derrick was given the “Walter Payton Man of the Year Award“.
Brooks is currently the only Tampa Bay Buccaneer linebacker to be in the HALL OF FAME. Derrick Brooks was named to the 2000’s ALL-DECADES TEAM. Now Derrick is the Co-Owner/ President of Tampa Bay Storm Arena Football team.


Image result for derrick brooks